I came across this article about favorite childhood books and what they say about our current psyche. Hilarious, with a few gems:

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein

The residual guilt may be nearly unbearable, but at least you’ll be a good parent.

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

Your friends may be totally crazy, but you’re together enough that you can go out partying with them every night and still hold down a full-time job.

It’s really a great concept. When you think about it, the books you loved as a child probably do say a lot about you. I mean, Flavorwire went the direction of cute/ironic, but I’m kind of serious here. In a game of “dissect your friends’ favorite childhood books” I’m betting a lot more than meets the eye would be revealed.

Ok, ok, I’ll go first.

Favorite picture books: Silly Sally Went to Town, Walking Backward Upside Down, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, and Comet’s Nine Lives.

 

Favorite Middle Grade: Anything Roald Dahl, but especially Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The BFG, and Matilda. Then I read my first Harry Potter book (no explanation needed).

Favorite YA: Looking for Alaska and This Lullabye.

 

Hmmmm…I don’t feel like I can really psychoanalyze myself without being a tad biased, but I can try! I see a lot of characters who start small and go and do something big, like inheriting a chocolate factory from the poorest of poverty or finding a home as a cat in a land full of dogs or striking out from their family very young to go seek a “great perhaps” at boarding school. I see a lot of characters with longing for something more. And I see sideline romances, except for Sarah Dessen’s book, which features a girl who is afraid romance will keep her from achieving her dreams.

I see a lot of dreaming.

What are some of your favorite books from childhood? Or, if you don’t feel like sharing something that’s apparently so revealing, feel free to analyze me!

