So I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a YALit blog for a while now, but there was that little problem of insecurity, so I delayed. And then this happened. And I so wanted to write and rant about it, but I couldn’t. So here I am.

I hatehatehate condescending adults. Adults who think that because kids aren’t yet fully grown, they are somehow less than human, less than real, less than valuable. I’ve had to deal with them all my life, and my main goal in life is not to become one. Spending my Saturday nights hanging out with three of the coolest kids in the city and studying YA Lit 24/7 is helpful, mostly because it means I end up acting more like a sixteen-year-old than a twenty-year-old, and, unlike most college students, this is actually majorly helpful to my job and education.

The point is, this woman wrote an article for WSJ about the evilness in YA Lit. I mean, it’s kind of a moot article because she chose the most graphic, violent, and shocking books on the market. These are not the books that are on display when you walk into Barnes and Noble, and they are not the books that teens are hungrily gathering up like cupcakes at a Bar Mitzvah. False. Advertising.

And does she really, really think her teenage daughter hasn’t come across issues like these in her daily life? 12% of teenage girls in grades 9-12 have been sexually assaulted, and those are only the girls who had the courage to recognize and report the instance. And she thinks hiding these issues from her daughter will help? Even the best meaning parents are often inept at discussing real world issues with their teenagers. There is a huge language barrier there. So here’s an idea. Read books aimed at your teens. Then give the book to them. Then ask them what they think without saying your own opinion. You will absolutely be surprised.

And if you don’t have time to read the books, read YA blogs, read reviews, get informed. Or read my blog. I’ll help you out.

